Wisdom Is The Only Way!

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Tuesday, October 27, 2015

Wisdom Is The Only Way!

Today’s scripture reading: Proverbs 23

1. Proverbs 23:4-5Don’t wear yourself out trying to get rich. Be wise enough to know when to quit. 5 In the blink of an eye wealth disappears, for it will sprout wings and fly away like an eagle.

• In a culture filled with enticement to gain wealth, we must guard our hearts and be grateful for what we have. “Godliness with contentment is great gain.”

2. Proverbs 23:9Don’t waste your breath on fools, for they will despise the wisest advice.

• It is better to privately have a question about the wisdom of others than to engage them and be relieved of all doubt.

3. Proverbs 23:12Commit yourself to instruction; listen carefully to words of knowledge.

• Adherence to proper instruction prevents misapplication and failure. It is better to ask questions for clarity than to rely on your own thinking and miss an opportunity.

4. Proverbs 23:13-14Don’t fail to discipline your children. The rod of punishment won’t kill them. 14 Physical discipline may well save them from death.

• There are many ways we can discipline our children. Wise parents listen to God and study their children to know the most effective way of achieving the end goal.

5. Proverbs 23:15-16My child, if your heart is wise, my own heart will rejoice! 16 Everything in me will celebrate when you speak what is right.

• It’s amazing to think that we can make our heavenly Father smile. Practice walking in His wisdom today and put a smile on the face of God.

6. Proverbs 23:22Listen to your father, who gave you life, and don’t despise your mother when she is old.

• Honor your father and mother.” This is the first commandment with a promise: 3 If you honor your father and mother, “things will go well for you, and you will have a long life on the earth.” – Ephesians 6:2-3

7. Proverbs 23:24The father of godly children has cause for joy. What a pleasure to have children who are wise.

• Be merciful to your children; their struggle may find its origin in you. It’s impossible for them to be you; you’re daily discovering who you are!

8. Proverbs 23:26O my son, give me your heart. May your eyes take delight in following my ways.

• Nothing would make our heavenly Father happier than watching His children make wise decisions.

Peace and blessings!

3 thoughts on “Wisdom Is The Only Way!

  1. Father thank You for today’s manna. Keep me making wise decisions. Let my ways please you and let Your will be done in my life daily. Let my ways make You smile. Overload me we ith Your Wisdom, in Jesus Mighty And Matchless Name, Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michael

    Amen!
    These Proverbs remind me to seek the Kingdom first, and all of His righteousness. I pray that my Father smiles and shines upon my today, in the name of Jesus.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Logan III

    Some times men don’t like to follow instructions, We need to change that. Where God Leads I will follow. PT, Thanks for this reminder. And EVERYDAY…Everything Safe

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.