Servant leadership

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Friday, October 30, 2015

Servant leadership

The central theme of the Bible is servanthood and the servant character or example of servanthood is Jesus Christ.

Mark 10:45For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve others and to give His life as a ransom for many.

When we allow Christ to be Lord of our lives, His Lordship will be expressed in the way we serve others.

Mark 9:15When the crowd saw Jesus, they were overwhelmed with awe, and they ran to greet Him.

I Peter 4:10God has given each of you a gift from his great variety of spiritual gifts. Use them well to serve one another.

John 15:12-13This is my commandment: Love each other in the same way I have loved you. 13 There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.

The way we demonstrate love for God is by expressing that love for others.

I Corinthians 4:5So don’t make judgments about anyone ahead of time—before the Lord returns. For He will bring our darkest secrets to light and will reveal our private motives. Then God will give to each one whatever praise is due.

Real leadership is servant leadership and the greatest leader ever is Jesus Christ, our Lord and Master.

Servanthood is an attitude exemplified by Christ.

Philippians 2:5-9You must have the same attitude that Christ Jesus had. 6 Though He was God, He did not think of equality with God as something to cling to. 7 Instead, He gave up his divine privileges; He took the humble position of a slave and was born as a human being. When He appeared in human form, 8 He humbled himself in obedience to God and died a criminal’s death on a cross. 9 Therefore, God elevated Him to the place of highest honor and gave Him the name above all other names.

• Verse 5 – Get and maintain the mind of Christ.

• Verse 6 – Let go of what you think gives you an advantage.

• Verse 7 – Take a position as a slave.

• Verse 8 – Humble yourself.

• Verse 9 – Humility precedes exaltation.

The five words translated for ‘minister’ in the New Testament generally refer to servanthood or services given in love.

Every believer is called to ministry.

Matthew 28:18-20Jesus came and told his disciples, “I have been given all authority in heaven and on earth. 19 Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. 20 Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

General Bruce C. Clark said, “Rank is given to enable you to better serve those above and below you. It is not given for you to practice your idiosyncrasies.”

Colossians 3:23-25Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people. 24 Remember that the Lord will give you an inheritance as your reward, and that the Master you are serving is Christ. 25 But if you do what is wrong, you will be paid back for the wrong you have done. For God has no favorites.

Ask God to enable you to be a servant leader, then serve with passion and compassion.

Peace and blessings!

4 thoughts on “Servant leadership

  1. Don Sullivan

    Thank You Father for this wonderful word today. Lord help me to constantly serve You, my church, my pastor, and mankind. Keep me passionate while I serve, allow me to be a good example to others. Keep me focused on Your will and not mine. In Jesus’ mighty and matchless name, Amen!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Phillip Bell

    Dear Lord God, thanks for the powerful word about leadership. Please, continue to guide my decisions today so that I honor You. Thank You, for the vision You have given Pastor Trimble to share with me. Show me how to apply it daily to the people I serve at home, church, work, and abroad. In the name of Jesus, Your Son, I pray. Amen.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Michael

    Amen!
    I pray that God grants me the wisdom and reveals to me my gifts, so that I can turn around and use these gifts to serve others for His glory.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Alicia

    Praying and thanking God in advance for the wisdom He instills in me and the gifts he blesses me with that will allow me to become a strong, dedicated, and humble servant to others.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.