Spiritual Rest

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: November 2, 2015

Spiritual Rest

One of our primary pursuits is the pursuit of REST. The Word of God has much to say about this subject. Consider the following:

1. The Divine Presence gives rest.

Exodus 33:14The Lord replied, “I will personally go with you, Moses, and I will give you rest—everything will be fine for you.”

2. It is vainly sought in escape from trouble.

Psalm 55:6Oh, that I had wings like a dove; then I would fly away and rest!

3. It can be lost by stubbornness.

Isaiah 28:12God has told his people, “Here is a place of rest; let the weary rest here. This is a place of quiet rest.” But they would not listen.

4. It is found in Christ’s service.

Matthew 11:29Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls.

5. It is appropriated by faith.

Hebrews 4:5But in the other passage God said, “They will never enter my place of rest.”

6. It is eternal.

Revelations 14:13And I heard a voice from heaven saying, “Write this down: Blessed are those who die in the Lord from now on. Yes, says the Spirit, they are blessed indeed, for they will rest from their hard work; for their good deeds follow them!”

Rest in the Lord today and allow His peace to give you sweet repose.

Peace and blessings!

3 thoughts on “Spiritual Rest

  1. Phillip Bell

    Thank You, Lord God! Your peace is what I need everyday. Please, bless me with a greater portion today at work, home, and in traffic. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michael

    Amen PT!
    The world is constantly troubling us, but as Jesus said “do not worry about tomorrow…” I want to continue to rest in the divine presence of God in spite of what’s going on at work, on the freeway, etc. Thank God for caring about us so much that He provides for us daily.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.