Some Storms We Walk Through

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Some Storms We Walk Through1

In life there will be many storms, some more severe than others. All of them will demand the appropriate response to overcome them.

The good news is that God will use our storm-experiences to strengthen and not weaken us. His Purpose is always in everything to make us better not bitter. The storm will center around some facet of your life, your family, job, business, health, finances, etc.

Storms we walk through require that we develop in prayer. The Bible is replete with texts concerning prayer.

Consider the following:

• Morning Prayer

Mark 1:35Before daybreak the next morning, Jesus got up and went out to an isolated place to pray.

• Evening Prayer

Mark 6:46After telling everyone good-bye, he went up into the hills by himself to pray.

• Frequent Prayer

Luke 5:16But Jesus often withdrew to the wilderness for prayer.

• All Night Prayer

Luke 6:12One day soon afterward Jesus went up on a mountain to pray, and he prayed to God all night.

• Prayer Commanded by Christ

Matthew 6:6But when you pray, go away by yourself, shut the door behind you, and pray to your Father in private. Then your Father, who sees everything, will reward you.

Our responsibilities in God are not a substitute for a relationship with God. Prayer will not become a discipline in your life if you are not assertive about praying. If you do not have a designated place to pray in your home, it may be because you do not have a definite plan to pray.

Consider the following observations for walking through a storm:

1. Don’t just walk through, pray through your storm.

Ephesians 6:18Pray in the Spirit at all times and on every occasion. Stay alert and be persistent in your prayers for all believers everywhere.

2. Know that Jesus will show up in your storm.

Matthew 14:25About three o’clock in the morning Jesus came toward them, walking on the water.

3. When we see Him in the light of His Presence we can then see ourselves in light of Him.

Ephesians 2:10For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

4. Storm-walker in Christ cuts all ties with impossibility.

Philippians 4:13For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.

5. Know that God is your refuge when stuff gets tough.

Psalm 46:1God is our refuge and strength, always ready to help in times of trouble.

6. Storms we walk through require spiritual encouragement.

I Samuel 30:6David was now in great danger because all his men were very bitter about losing their sons and daughters, and they began to talk of stoning him. But David found strength in the LORD his God.

Isaiah 41:10Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.

7. Know that what you focus on in the storm determines what you walk on.

Matthew 14:30-31But when he saw the strong wind and the waves, he was terrified and began to sink. “Save me, Lord!” he shouted. 31 Jesus immediately reached out and grabbed him. “You have so little faith,” Jesus said. “Why did you doubt me?”

Peace and blessings!

3 thoughts on “Some Storms We Walk Through

  1. Teri Allard

    Amen!
    This manna is right on time. So many times when I’m in a storm I get distracted by the drama of it. I forget pray right away, then later on, in the middle of it, I pray and try do additional prayer to make up for not praying in the beginning of the storm. I’m doing it all wrong. It would be so much better if I had prayed from the beginning. I don’t know why I still struggle with this. When a storm hits, I need to just get on my knees immediately. Prayer needs to be my automatic response!

    Selah…

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.