Identify With Your New Identity

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Friday, November 20, 2015

Identify With Your New Identity

The Bible says in II Corinthians 5:17, “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.”

Think about that! We are no longer who we were. Christ, through His death, burial and resurrection, has given us a wonderful and new identity. We have only to identify with it.

Consider the following principles for identifying with our new identity:

1. I must sever my identification with my former identity.

Galatians 2:20I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.

2. I must see myself in light of my new life.

II Corinthians 5:17This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!

3. I must practice walking in my new identity and allow the Spirit of God to lead me.

Galatians 5:16-18So I say, let the Holy Spirit guide your lives. Then you won’t be doing what your sinful nature craves. 17 The sinful nature wants to do evil, which is just the opposite of what the Spirit wants. And the Spirit gives us desires that are the opposite of what the sinful nature desires. These two forces are constantly fighting each other, so you are not free to carry out your good intentions. 18 But when you are directed by the Spirit, you are not under obligation to the law of Moses.

4. In our new identity we are:

• Dead and buried

Romans 6:4For we died and were buried with Christ by baptism. And just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glorious power of the Father, now we also may live new lives.

• Resurrected

Romans 6:5Since we have been united with Him in His death, we will also be raised to life as He was.

• Righteous

II Corinthians 5:21For He made Him who knew no sin to be sin for us, that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.

• Redeemed from the curse

Galatians 3:13Christ has redeemed us from the curse of the law, having become a curse for us (for it is written, “Cursed is everyone who hangs on a tree”).

• Blessed

Galatians 3:14, 29That the blessing of Abraham might come upon the Gentiles in Christ Jesus, that we might receive the promise of the Spirit through faith. 29 And if you are Christ’s, then you are Abraham’s seed, and heirs according to the promise.

• Chosen

Ephesians 1:4Just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before Him in love.

• Complete

Colossians 2:6-10As you therefore have received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in Him, 7 rooted and built up in Him and established in the faith, as you have been taught, abounding in it with thanksgiving. 8 Beware lest anyone cheat you through philosophy and empty deceit, according to the tradition of men, according to the basic principles of the world, and not according to Christ. 9 For in Him dwells all the fullness of the Godhead bodily; 10 and you are complete in Him, who is the head of all principality and power.

• Seated in heaven

Ephesians 2:6…and raised us up together, and made us sit together in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus.

5. Never allow the vestiges of your old identity to keep you from God’s Plans, Purpose and Promises for you!

Numbers 13:33“There we saw the giants (the descendants of Anak came from the giants); and we were like grasshoppers in our own sight, and so we were in their sight.”

My friend, think on these things and allow the mind that is in Christ to also be in you.

Peace and blessings!

4 thoughts on “Identify With Your New Identity

  1. Praise you Lord God Almighty! Thank you Lord for the new me! In Christ Jesus I am the head and not the tail, victorious, healed, prosperous, at your humble service. In Jesus name. Amen

    Like

Comments are closed.