Give God Something to Bless!

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Thursday, December 17, 2015

Give God Something to Bless!

II Kings 4:1-7A certain woman of the wives of the sons of the prophets cried out to Elisha, saying, “Your servant my husband is dead, and you know that your servant feared the LORD. And the creditor is coming to take my two sons to be his slaves.” 2 So Elisha said to her, “What shall I do for you? Tell me, what do you have in the house?” And she said, “Your maidservant has nothing in the house but a jar of oil.” 3 Then he said, “Go, borrow vessels from everywhere, from all your neighbors—empty vessels; do not gather just a few. 4 And when you have come in, you shall shut the door behind you and your sons; then pour it into all those vessels, and set aside the full ones.” 5 So she went from him and shut the door behind her and her sons, who brought the vessels to her; and she poured it out. 6 Now it came to pass, when the vessels were full, that she said to her son, “Bring me another vessel.” And he said to her, “There is not another vessel.” So the oil ceased. 7 Then she came and told the man of God. And he said, “Go, sell the oil and pay your debt; and you and your sons live on the rest.”

Oftentimes the greatest obstacle to our breakthrough is failure to give God something to bless. We take inventory on ourselves and confront ourselves with our inadequacies.

God is looking for empty vessels to fill. We can be so full of ourselves that God can’t get anything in.

So how do we give God something to bless?

1. We come to Him empty instead of full.

2. We close the door on distractions.

3. We allow Him to fill us.

4. We find someone to pour into so we can come back to Him empty again.

Get full to get empty! Give God something to bless!

Peace and blessings!

5 thoughts on “Give God Something to Bless!

  1. Phillip Bell

    Thank you, Lord God! Your word never returns to You void. Please, help me to become empty so you can fill me today. I want to be a blessing to someone you place in my path. In the name of Jesus, Your Son, Amen.

    Like

  2. Michael

    Amen!
    I give away my time, talent, and treasure and empty myself, so that God can fill me back up anew with more than before. As Jesus said “no one pours new wine into old wine skins…” I pray that God fills me with renewal everyday.

    Like

  3. Don Sullivan

    Lord empty me everyday so that I may get Your precious refill daily. Keep me focused on You and Your precepts. Redirect me when needed and never let me lose sight of Your word and commandments. Instruct me Lord on what to give You to bless, in Jesus Mighty And Matchless name, Amen!

    Like

  4. Paul & Barbara Taylor

    Father we thank you for your word, Father not our will but your will be done on earth as it is in heaven empty us and fill us in the name of Jesus !!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. raineawarren

    Thank you Heavenly Father for filling my vessel with Your blessings, grace and favor as I have come through a mighty dark season. However, I’m very Grateful for giving me the mindset to always “Pay if Forward”…especially during the troubled times. Hallelujah!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.