Habits That Enable Spiritual Growth

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Thursday, January 7, 2016

Habits That Enable Spiritual Growth

Seven (7) habits God wants us to develop that enable spiritual growth are:

1. Spend time with Him daily.

Proverbs 8:34“Blessed are those who listen to me, watching daily at my doors, waiting at my doorway.”

2. Study and practice His Word.

Psalm 1:1-3Blessed is the man… [Whose] delight is in the law of the Lord, and in His law he meditates day and night. He is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither—whatever they do prospers.

3. Love Jesus completely.

Luke 14:26“If you want to be my follower, you must love me more than your own father and mother, wife and children, brothers and sisters—yes, even your own life. Otherwise, you cannot be my disciple.”

4. Love other believers.

John 13:35If you have love for one another, then everyone will know that you are my disciples.

5. Serve others unselfishly.

Mark 10:45“For even I, the Son of Man, came here not to be served but to serve others and to give his life as a ransom for many.”

6. Share the Good News of Jesus Christ.

II Timothy 2:2Take the teaching you heard me proclaim in the presence of many witnesses, and entrust them to reliable people, who will be able to teach others also.

7. Tithe my income.

Malachi 3:10Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that there will not be room enough to store it.

Take a moment to ask God which of these habits is in most need of development in your life and develop a goal to grow in that area.

Review the others and begin to participate with God in establishing them as a way of living your life by establishing a goal for each one.

Meditate on Romans 8:28 [And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose].

His Purpose is evident in each of the seven habits above. Prepare to grow!

Peace and blessings!

4 thoughts on “Habits That Enable Spiritual Growth

  1. Phillip Bell

    Thank You, Lord God! Your plan for me to grow is one I will follow this year. Please, give me the heart to be obedient and consistent. In Jesus, I pray, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paul & Barbara Taylor

    God in the name of Jesus help me to develop good habits in all areas to grow in your word. God thank you for the life group and Pastor P. T.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Don Sullivan

    Love it, taking my spiritual health to another level! Spending time in the spiritual gym getting my exercise on, going to higher levels in all areas of my life. Helping and showing others how to do the same, great word today P.T.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michael

    Amen!
    Sometimes we can work so much on good eating habits or good work habits that we forget the most important, which is developing good Spiritual habits. I am working on at least one of these habits to refine over the next year.

    Like

Comments are closed.