Let God Shepherd You!

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Monday, January 18, 2016

Let God Shepherd You!

Psalm 23The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. 3 He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. 4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. 5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; my cup runs over. 6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; and I will dwell in the house of the LORD Forever.

Psalm 23 shows us that we belong to God and that we are His concern. It is God who has made us and has recreated or remade us. When you read this Psalm note how the language shifts from the pronoun ‘he’ to ‘you.’

There is also a shift from talking about sheep to talking about human. In the first part of the Psalm we see pictures of pastures, still waters and sheep path.

After the fourth verse, we see a table, anointed head and overflowing cup. The subtle shift is of great importance as it reflects what happens when we embrace God as our shepherd, recognizing our need for God and our inability to care for ourselves.

1. “The Lord is my shepherd.”

• God leads me and takes care of me.

2. “I shall not want.”

• All my needs will be met; I don’t need to desire more.

3. “He makes me to lie down in green pastures.”

• I’m free to rest in Him.

4. “He leads me besides the still waters.”

• He has water that is safe and life-giving.

5. “He restores my soul.”

• My heart and mind are under His care and keeping.

6. “He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.”

• He is my never-failing GPS.

Mediate on these things and draw nearer to our God!

Peace and blessings!

9 thoughts on “Let God Shepherd You!

  1. Phillip Bell

    Heavenly, Father, thank You for being my ultimate care giver. My family and I are safe in Your arms. Help me to live out Your plan and purpose for me today. In the name of Jesus, Your Son, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Simone E. Dilisser

    Such an assurance to know that God is my shepherd; as a result I have all that I need, today and in the future.
    Thank you Pastor Trimble for this reassurance.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kamari Palmer

    Thank you Lord for your guidance.You already know the plans for my life,I just need to continue to listen because the signals can be small and I don’t want to miss out on what you have for me.Thank you lord for taking care of me and making sure that me and my family are safe.I love you Lord

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Danielle Parish

    I really like the subtle shifting of the metaphors and word usage you highlight. Realizing that once we allow God to Shepard us, then and only then can God do a work in us!! So great to see that. Also sheep can’t wonder off alone. We are not meant to be without God. Thank you for highlighting this.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.