How God Wants Us To Live

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Thursday, January 21, 2016

How God Wants Us To Live

Micah 6:8He has shown you, O man, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you but to do justly, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.

This scripture embodies the heart of God as it relates to how we live. In three concepts, God frames our lives in a beautifully simplistic yet powerfully dynamic way.

1. “…to do justly”

• God wants us to work, labor and toil to make or create just verdicts as they may relate to people’s lives in our context of living and to do so with a sense of ethical obligation.

• God wants us to do justice; not just talk about it or be silent; “just do it.”

2. “…to love mercy [kindness]”

• God wants us to love kindness or mercy. That is, to desire or delight in and be passionate about doing acts of kindness toward people who may not be our own family, yet we treat them as if they were.

3. “…to walk humbly”

God wants us to live in motion and not to become stagnant. The motion, however, must consistently be toward Him in all humility. It’s the way in which we consistently build our relationship with God embodying more and more of His character. Then we will do justice, love kindness and walk humbly before our God.

Peace and blessings!

14 thoughts on “How God Wants Us To Live

  1. Thank you. The word of God is good and just and God our father is ever more so. Help us Lord to live in motion and not become or stay stagnant if we are. We are free indeed in you. Use us, use me. Let your will be done . In Jesus name we ask. Amen

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heavenly Father,
    Thank you for your love and mercy. Help me to continue to grow in your Word so that my Walk is greater than my talk with YOU. May others see YOU in me. Continue to bless everyone who have committed to this transformation time beyond the 50 days.
    In Jesus name,
    AMEN.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Phillip Bell

    Thank You, Lord God! Please, help me to draw continuously closer to Your Will for my life and not my own. I want to move in Your direction. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Melissa

    Amen. This answers the question of “How do I work as unto the Lord?” like his Word tells me? By being and doing justly, by being kind and merciful (even when I don’t feel like it) and being humble–recognizing that God is my source, my enabler!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Theresia McCallum

    Thank you that I am reminded to keep my eyes on God always and He will see me through my daily walk. That it is important that I do not stagger, but to keep moving toward the mark. That this pathway will usher me to do justice, love kindness and walk humbly toward God. #walkwithmeLord

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Paul & Barbara Taylor

    Father God help us not to become stagnant, and help us to do everything in humility toward you God in the name of Jesus . Thank you P. T.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Don Sullivan

    Thank You Lord for Your plan to keep me in motion and moving towards You. Remove every ounce of slothfulness and stagnant way from me. Keep me humble Lord and constantly seeking You!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Michael

    Amen!
    Lord, I want to do for you and keep moving like a rushing river. Give me the strength and energy to keep on moving and not become stagnant. In the name of Jesus!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.