Anchored, Fixed and Focused

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Thursday, February 11, 2016

Anchored, Fixed and Focused

Hebrews 12:2…fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith. For the joy set before Him He endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

This scripture calls us to attention in the military sense of that word (attention). When at attention we’re not available to distraction or the usual relaxed allowance of minutiae that invades and takes over our lives so effortlessly.

It’s a call to arms, to our rightly position, to attend to the author and finisher of our faith.

Note how in this verse Jesus assumes the same position as it relates to His Father. “For the joy set before Him, He endured the cross, scorning its shame and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

It was it seems His attentive gaze upon His father that enabled Him to endure, push beyond shame and accomplish His goal of reunification with His Father. His goal was never to get to heaven, it was always to get to His Father!

Today, my friend, gaze upon Christ in a way that transforms your thinking from wanting to go to heaven to wanting to go to Him there!

Peace and blessings!

14 thoughts on “Anchored, Fixed and Focused

  1. Phillip Bell

    Thank You, Heavenly Father! I want to be with You, so please help me to cut out all distractions that take me away from that goal. In the name of Your Son, Jesus. Amen.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Don Sullivan

    Thank You Lord for Your wonderful word today. Keep me at attention Lord with my focus constantly on the journey to You. Do not allow distractions to prevail or interfere with my relationship with You. Let nothing keep me from You Heavenly Father, in Jesus’ mighty and matchless name, Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. La Wanda

    Father today I just ask for me my family and friends that we keep our eyes on you and nothing else Don’t let the evil one distract us from our purpose in life! Amen

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michael

    Amen PT!
    I look forward to seeing Jesus face-to-face and spending eternity worshiping Him in His presence.

    When a ship is anchored, it still pitches and sways in rough waters. Likewise, if I am only anchored, but not fixed and focused, the storms of life will distract me and move me from my position in Him. I must remain anchored, fixed, and focused (all three) on Jesus.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Paul & Barbara Taylor

    Father God we thank you for your son Jesus. God we want to be and stay so close to you God that we can smell your breath, in the name of Jesus!! Great word P. T. We love you Pastor Trimble.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.