Sleep In Your Storms!

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manner for Today: Saturday, March 5, 2016

Sleep In Your Storms

Matthew 8:23-27Now when He got into a boat, His disciples followed Him. 24 And suddenly a great tempest arose on the sea, so that the boat was covered with the waves. But He was asleep. 25 Then His disciples came to Him and awoke Him, saying, “Lord, save us! We are perishing!” 26 But He said to them, “Why are you fearful, O you of little faith?” Then He arose and rebuked the winds and the sea, and there was a great calm. 27 So the men marveled, saying, “Who can this be, that even the winds and the sea obey Him?”

Storms are a part of life; no one can escape them. Storms happen; many times they are predictable. Certain behaviors will guarantee storms in your life; storms are equal opportunity entities. Just like with weather all that’s needed is for the right set of circumstances to brew and ‘bam’ you get a storm.

The good news is Jesus is not just a storm chaser, He is a storm Master. The text above gives us His perspective on storms; there we find Him asleep. When awaken He was well able to silence the storm and the fears of those with limited storm management skills.

So what do we do when we find ourselves in one of the storms of life? Consider the following:

1. Know that God has spoken and will speak in and to your storms.

• He’s waiting for your agreement to what He has already said!

2. Know that God is with you!

• He’s in your boat; find him!

3. Practice His practices!

• Less of you and more of Him is what you need.

• He sleeps in storms.

• Be at peace in Him.

4. Say what God has said to your storm then listen and speak what He is saying now.

• Line your speech up with His and silence the storm.

Peace and blessings!

12 thoughts on “Sleep In Your Storms!

  1. La Wanda

    Lord I ask that me my family and friends speak to our storms today. Have us to trust that if we ask God will calm our storms like he did for the disciples! Selah

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don Sullivan

    Thank You Lord for todays word. Thank You for being with me through all storms and also the ability to count it all joy when I partake in the sufferings that I partake in. Even though the storms are nothing like the ones You went through they still promote spiritual growth in my life, Thanks. In Jesus’ mighty and matchless name, Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kamari Palmer

    Thank you Lord for breathing life into me and calming the storms that I have been in.I’m ready to receive you and be in agreement with all of you and less of me.Fill me up,and take over this ship that may be drifting into a storm.Thank you Lord for all you have done Thank you Pastor for all these wonderful manna’s. They are all helping me everyday😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Phillip Bell

    Lord God, thank You for silencing my storms. Please, continue to instill in me the desire to help others do the same with Your Word. In the name of Jesus, Your Son, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Michael

    Amen
    Time goes faster when I sleep. Why stay awake in a storm, I only end up worrying and count the seconds until it passes. In the next storm, I will be calm and sleep through it. God will wake me up when it’s over.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.