Assess To Be Your Best!

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Thursday, March 17, 2016

Assess To Be Your Best! 2

Romans 12:3For I say, through the grace given to me, to everyone who is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think soberly, as God has dealt to each one a measure of faith.

In many scriptures God calls us to evaluate or judge ourselves. This time He adds the admonition to do so with sobriety; to be free from outside influences that could shape your assessment.

Those influences include friends, family, failures, your past, opinions of others or the inventory you take of yourself.

It is a kind of ‘Adam, where are you?’ or ‘Saul, why do you persecute me?’ moment. Certainly God knew the answer to the questions but desired Adam and Eve and or Saul to know the answer.

The question becomes, ‘what will we do once we know the answers to these questions about ourselves?’ Will you be willing to admit needing change?

The truth is, no one has it all together; people just pretend. So here’s what we do:

1. “Don’t think of yourself more highly.”

• Be humble so you don’t stumble.

2. “Think soberly.”

• Be realistic not stylistic.

3. “Be honest.”

• It won’t be the same without the game.

My friend, pray and ask God to give you the courage to face yourself with Him then get ready to be better.

Peace and blessings!

8 thoughts on “Assess To Be Your Best!

  1. Phillip Bell

    Heavenly Father, thank You for helping me to see how much I need You to change me for the better. I know I can’t do it alone. For You are on the throne, of my life. Please, continue to use me to advance Your kingdom on this earth. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

    Like

  2. La Wanda

    Father I pray and ask God to give me my family and friends the courage to face ourselves with You, so can get ready to be better today. Amen

    Like

  3. Kamari Palmer

    Lord ,I ask that you gwlive me the strength and the courage to face things in my life.without you things are not possible. Thanking you in advance

    Like

  4. Michael

    Amen
    Self assessment and even completing a Spiritual, self-S.W.O.T. analysis annually is a good exercise. God will reveal the areas that need to change, and then I can surrender and give it to Him. God will transform me if I seek His help.

    Like

  5. Don Sullivan

    Dear Heavenly Father, thank You for thr many ways that You bless me and my family. Keep me in self assessment mode so that I may continously get better and constantly think soberly to excute Your will and purpose for my life. Keep me honest and always keep me focused on You. Let me not think higher of myself than I should. In Jesus’ mighty and matchless name, Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.