Building Godly Character

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Sunday, March 20, 2016

Building Godly Character

God is less interested in what we do than He is in why we do it. That is to say, God is more concerned about our character than our accomplishments. The most important things in our lives are often easily neglected for what we are influenced to believe are the urgent things in life.

Note the following character building admonitions:

1. Learning to love is the single most important accomplishment you can have.

I Thessalonians 3:12And may the Lord make your love for one another and for all people grow and overflow, just as our love for you overflows.

2. Build people first.

I Thessalonians 5:11So encourage each other and build each other up, just as you are already doing.

3. Peace is the womb of success.

I Thessalonians 5:13b…and live peacefully with each other.

4. Don’t major in minors.

I Thessalonians 5:15See that no one pays back evil for evil, but always try to do good to each other and to all people.

Peace and blessings!

3 thoughts on “Building Godly Character

  1. Don Sullivan

    Dear Heavenly Father, keep me focused as Your agent of love. Help me to build people up by encouraging them and loving them just as You do. Please Sir if You will remove all toxic and negative things from my presence. Let me not major in minors. In Jesus’ mighty and matchless name, Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ARNEL EUGENIO

    Thank you Pastor Trimble for reminding us to keep “first things first.” I was watching a special on Cuba and one Cuban man interviewed said that what concerns him about Americans is that we define freedom as being able to buy whatever we want. His definition of freedom was being free from the influence of materialism and being able to focus on his spirituality and on his relationships. I am always sobered by the thought that one day, when I come face to face with Jesus, will He see himself in me? This word in conjunction with your message today teaches me to focus on what is important to God.

    On building Godly character, I’d like to share this quote from Dallas Willard:
    “When we accept moment-to-moment events and tribulations as the place where we receive God’s provision, we patiently anticipate the action of His Spirit in our lives. In hope, we do our best to find and implement the ways in which our inner self can take on the character of the children of the Highest. This is the path of radical change–change sufficient to meet the needs of the world and prepare a people to be the habitation of God.”

    Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.