When Trouble Comes!

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Friday, April 8, 2016

When Trouble Comes!2

I Peter 2:21These things are all a part of the Christian life to which you have been called. Christ suffered for us. This shows us we are to follow in His steps.

What would we do if God had left us without a strategy for dealing with difficulty? It doesn’t take long to know that in life there will be tough times.

So how are we to manage them? We use what Christ taught us in His days of pain and suffering.

In the day of pain and suffering:

1. We reach out to friends who can share the weight of our pain.

Matthew 26:36-39Jesus came with them to a place called Gethsemane. He said to them, “You sit here while I go over there to pray.” 37 He took Peter and the two sons of Zebedee with Him. He began to have much sorrow and a heavy heart. 38 Then He said to them, “My soul is very sad. My soul is so full of sorrow I am ready to die. You stay here and watch with Me.” 39 He went on a little farther and got down with His face on the ground. He prayed, “My Father, if it can be done, take away what is before Me. Even so, not what I want but what You want.”

2. We reach out to God and pray the Gethsemane prayer.

Mark 14:35-36Jesus fell face down on the ground and prayed that if possible, he would not have to suffer the pain ahead of him. He prayed ‘Abba! Father! I know you can do all things. And I don’t want to have to drink this cup of suffering. Nevertheless, I want your will, not mine, to be done.’

What Christ prayed in Gethsemane was artful to say the least.

Consider the structure of His prayer in Mark 14:35-36:

• Affirm God’s power; ‘I know you can do anything.”

• Express your desire; “I don’t want this pain.”

• Offer your trust; “I want your will; not mine!”

My friend, if you are in a painful set of circumstances that is causing much suffering, be encouraged to pray as Christ prayed in Gethsemane. God’s grace to move forward awaits you!

Peace and blessings!

5 thoughts on “When Trouble Comes!

  1. I thank YOU LORD for being there always during all circumstances in pain physically and emotionally. Thank you for hearing my prayers throughout the day. I believe and trust that YOU hear and answer all prayers and I receive YOUR grace that awaits me as I move forward in healing spiritually and physically. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paul & Barbara Taylor

    Father God we thank you for always beening there when things are good and when things are not so good, Father God help us in the name of Jesus we know that you can we love you and we need you, God not our will but your will be done. In Jesus name Amen !!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Don Sullivan

    Thank You Lord for for such an awesome reminder today. Lord I know that You can do anything. I know that I want my current situation to change and You’re changing it as we speak. Let Your will be done in my life and not mine. In Jesus mighty and matchless name, Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.