My New Identity In Christ!

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Sunday, April 17, 2016

My New Identity In Christ!

II Corinthians 5:17“When someone becomes a Christian, he becomes a brand new person inside. He’s not the same anymore. A new life has begun!”

Identity is at the crux of many issues we face today. Protecting our identity has become a collage industry with varied products designed to aid us in accomplishing the goal of identity protection.

The identity most important to our outcome daily is the one left, all too often, unprotected; it’s what and who we think we are at any given point of the day. The truth is, whatever we believe about ourselves is true whether it’s really true or not.

So how do we manage our personal identity daily? We believe what God’s Word says about us and walk in that reality daily.

• Realize our old life is gone.

Galatians 2:20 My old self has been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. So I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

• Realize our new life has begun.

Romans 8:1-3So now there is no condemnation for those who belong to Christ Jesus. 2 And because you belong to him, the power of the life-giving Spirit has freed you from the power of sin that leads to death. 3 The law of Moses was unable to save us because of the weakness of our sinful nature. So God did what the law could not do. He sent his own Son in a body like the bodies we sinners have. And in that body God declared an end to sin’s control over us by giving his Son as a sacrifice for our sins.

My friend, when the old person with all its corruption and deceitful desires surfaces, put it off by putting on more of Christ through God’s Word.

Commit to memory II Corinthians 5:17.

Peace and blessings!

3 thoughts on “My New Identity In Christ!

  1. Heavenly Father, thank YOU for your Word. Help me hide Your Word in my heart so that when my old person with all its corruption and deceitful desires surfaces, I will be able to have victory over such by putting on more of Christ. I believe ad receive Your Word. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don Sullivan

    Dear Heavenly Father, thanks again for another fabulous word via P.T. Thanks for the new person I’ve become, continue to help me remain submerged in Your word daily. Give me the wisdom and desire to assassinate the old me as often as possible by continually transforming my heart and renewing my mind. In Jesus mighty and matchless name, Amen!

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.