What God Requires of Us

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Friday, May 6, 2016

What God Requires of Us

Micah 6:8He has shown you, O man, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you but to do justly, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.

This scripture embodies the heart of God as it relates to how we live. In three concepts, God frames our lives in a beautifully simplistic yet powerfully dynamic way.

1. “…to do justly”

• God wants us to work, labor and toil to make or create just verdicts as they may relate to people’s lives in our context of living and to do so with a sense of ethical obligation.

• God wants us to do justice; not just talk about it or be silent; “just do it.”

2. “…to love mercy [kindness]”

• God wants us to love kindness or mercy. That is, to desire or delight in and be passionate about doing acts of kindness toward people who may not be our own family, yet we treat them as if they were.

3. “…to walk humbly”

God wants us to live in motion and not to become stagnant. The motion, however, must consistently be toward Him in all humility. It’s the way in which we consistently build our relationship with God embodying more and more of His character. Then we will do justice, love kindness and walk humbly before our God.

Peace and blessings!

9 thoughts on “What God Requires of Us

  1. Phillip Bell

    Heavenly Father, thanks for Your word today. Please, help me to apply it at work and elsewhere. In the name of Your Son, Jesus, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paul & Barbara Taylor

    Father God in the name of Jesus help us today and everyday to do your will in the name of Jesus bless God , Amen and Amen !!!! Thank you so much Pastor Trimble for everything you do for the G.C.F.I. Family in Jesus name Amen !!! We love You !!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Heavenly Father help me to consistently build my relationship with YOU embodying more and more of YOUR character so that I will do justice, love kindness and walk humbly before YOU. I thank YOU for all that YOU have done and will do in my life and others through me. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. La wanda

    Fathet I thank you that you give me my family and to move closer and closer to you every day anything that might impede us from doing this take it away. Amen

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Teri Allard

    Amen PT!

    Heavenly Father, thank you for showing us how you want us to live.

    I pray that I can continue to live in motion consistently toward God as he wants me to; and not become stagnant.

    I want to build my relationship with God embodying more and more of His character.

    I want to do justice, love kindness and walk humbly before my God.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Michael

    Amen
    When I am in motion and moving in the direction towards God, I know that I am growing and being salty.

    I know I am stagnant when I haven’t read the Word, prayed or helped GCFI forward its vision. When I am stagnant I feel flavorless.

    God, I humbly pray that you draw me closer to you daily. You called me out of darkness into the Light. My relationship with You is nothing I did, but it’s because of Your grace. Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Don Sullivan

    Thank You Heavenly Father, awesome word today! Keep me in motion and don’t allow me to become stagnant! Let my motion be consistently toward You and keep me humble while in motion. Always give me the desire to be kind, loving, and willing to encourage folk to get know You and Your purpose! In Jesus mighty and matchless name, Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.