Embrace the Difference You Make!

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Monday, May 9, 2016

Embrace the Difference You Make!

Romans 12:2Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.

Too much assimilation and not enough differentiation is a danger to our ‘saltiness.’ Our difference is God’s design for us to light the world with His love.

In Matthew 5:13, Jesus says, “You are the salt of the earth.” Not ought to be, not should be or not could be; Jesus says, ‘you are…’

Salt was rubbed on meat in ancient times to keep it from spoiling, rotting or decaying; it was a preservative.

Jesus, in Matthew 5, is saying that in the midst of the ‘rotting and decaying’ world, my people will preserve and influence in a life-giving manner.

My friend, we are what is keeping this world from total godlessness. Our conformity to Him is the only barrier to the rot and decay of our culture or society.

Our differentiation versus assimilation into the world is a result of our transformation. Be ‘salty’ today by allowing your difference to make a difference.

Peace and blessings!

7 thoughts on “Embrace the Difference You Make!

  1. Phillip Bell

    Thank You, Lord God! Your word is all I need to get through any challenge I face. Please, show me how to share it today and help someone find You. In the name of Jesus, Your Son, I pray. Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don Sullivan

    Dear Heavenly Father, thank You for the manna today and everyday. Father let me be salty in order to assist in preventing rot and decay in this world. Place in my life all those You want me to rub down in salt. Let my difference make a difference. Let me nor my children copy the behavior and customs of this world. In Jesus mighty and matchless name, Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. La Wanda

    Lord help help me my family and friends to be different and separate from following everyone else. Let people see our lights shining and want we have. Christ! Amen

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michael

    Amen
    Father, help me be salty by preserving your Word, and keeping me set apart from the world. Help me to season the ones I come into contact with, in the name of Jesus.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Heavenly Father, Thank You for Your Word that is causing me to be different and salty. Help me to continue seek Your Word every day so that I may be salty for everyone you place in my path. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.