A Danger to Avoid!

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Tuesday, May 10, 2016

A Danger to Avoid!

Matthew 5:13You are the salt of the earth. But what good is salt if it has lost its flavor? Can you make it salty again? It will be thrown out and trampled underfoot as worthless.

The phrase ‘not worth his salt’ comes from the fact that salt was valued in ancient cultures. Soldiers were often paid in salt. Salt then was different from salt now. It was possible for salt to lose its flavor.

Our salt is a chemical compound called chloride of sodium or sodium chloride. Ancient salt was a mix of minerals and vegetables mined or gathered from the Dead Sea. Exposure to the elements could easily cause it to lose its flavor. In the same way, Christians can lose their ‘saltiness.’

Perhaps it would be appropriate to have a ‘salt’ check today.

Ask yourself these questions:

1. Has my thirst for God dissipated?

2. Has my spiritual influence with others become anemic?

3. Has anyone become ‘salted’ because of my ‘saltiness’ lately?

4. Do I have a sense of my own saltiness?

5. Does anything in my life gives evidence to my saltiness?

Ask and answer these questions then take your answers to God for direction and correction!

Peace and blessings!

7 thoughts on “A Danger to Avoid!

  1. Phillip Bell

    Lord God, please re-invigorate my desire to be salty. Help me to share Your love and the power of Your word today with someone who needs to know You. In the name of Jesus, Your Son, Amen.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Don Sullivan

    Dear Heavenly Father, thank You for Your word today, please Sir raise my salt levels so high that people are seasoned everywhere I go and I seize every opportunity to sprinkle salt on every single person I come in contact with! In Jesus mighty and matchless name, Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Heavenly Father, Thank you for Your Word. Help me examine myself and look to YOU for direction and correction so that I may preserve the value YOU have place on me as Salt, (Share A Living Testimony) so that others may come to know my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michael

    Amen
    This is a good word and warning therein. If I allow myself to be exposed and influenced by the “elements” of this world, I risk the chance of losing my saltiness. Lord, I pray for Your hedge of protection and I trust You to keep me on the right path. Protect me from the world as I carry Your testimony to a dying world. I pray that You work through me as a vessel to carry out Your will, Amen.

    Like

Comments are closed.