Having Trouble Making Friends?

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Saturday, May 14, 2016

Having Trouble Making Friends

Job 19:19All my close friends abhor me, and those whom I love have turned against me.

Everyone has seasons of loneliness, times when you need help that just isn’t there.

John 5:7The sick man answered Him, “Sir, I have no man to put me into the pool when the water is stirred up; but while I am coming, another steps down before me.”

What do you do when even your best friends don’t show up when you need them?

Psalm 41:9Even my own familiar friend in whom I trusted, who ate my bread, has lifted up his heel against me.

1. You remember and appeal to your primary relationship.

Hebrews 13:5Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

John 15:15No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.

2. You remember that kindness and generosity attract while anger and selfishness repel.

Ephesians 4:32And be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God in Christ forgave you.

• Become a good listener.

• Be empathetic with friends.

• Be honest and open.

• Be proactive versus reactive.

• Maintain a positive attitude.

Peace and blessings!

3 thoughts on “Having Trouble Making Friends?

  1. Teri Allard

    Amen Pastor Trimble!

    When I have trouble making friends, I will first remember and appeal to my primary relationship with my Heavenly Father. Second, I will remember that kindness and generosity attract and anger and selfishness repel.

    I must also remember what it says in Ephesians 4:32, to be kind, tenderhearted and forgiving, even as God in Christ forgave me.

    Heavenly Father, today I pray that I can always be empathetic with friends; always be a good listener; always be honest and open; always be proactive versus reactive; and always maintain a positive attitude.

    I thank you in advance for your love, mercy and grace in this area of making friends.

    In the name of Jesus, I pray, amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don Sullivan

    Thank You Lord for another wonderful reminder today. Thank You for never leaving me or forsaking me. Make a better listener, more empathetic towards people, more open and honest, more proactive versus reactive, and lastly help me maintain a positive attitude regardless of the situation! In Jesus mighty and matchless name, Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.