Translate The Bible Into Your Life!

By Pastor Alton Trimble

Manna For Today: Sunday, May 22, 2016

Translate The Bible Into Your Life!

II Timothy 3:16-17All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, so that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.

The phrase ‘so that’ is critical to understanding this text. This clause reveals to us the purpose God intended for the Bible and its impact on the believer. For doctrine, reproof, correction and instruction are all means to an end.

The ultimate purpose of the Bible is to change our lives. God, through the Bible, wants to change our convictions, character and conducts.

Philippians 2:12 says, “Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.”

God wants us to work out what He is putting in our lives. What is it that God wants you to work on that He is putting in via this text? Write down your discovery and get busy!

Peace and blessings!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Credit: “40 Days in the Word” – Rick Warren

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Translate The Bible Into Your Life!

  1. Teri Allard

    I know now that the ultimate purpose of the Bible is to change my life. I know now that God, through the Bible, wants to change my convictions, character and conduct. God wants me to work out all these “things” that He is putting in my life.

    And now, I need to get busy “working out my own salvation with fear and trembling.” (Philippians 2:12)

    Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.