“Continuing Education”

Manna For Today: Thursday, August 18, 2016

Continuing Education

Philippians 4:11Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content…

When we stop learning, we start losing. Our Heavenly Father is in a constant state of using everything in our lives to teach us something. The Bible is replete with instruction, wisdom and illustrative experiences for the believer. We never graduate from the “University of Life.” We were born into a continuing education process.

It is only when we embrace learning that we can do the work of being what God has called us to be. Much of what we are as believer is behavior-related. Scripture encourages us that “…godliness with contentment is great gain.” There is a significant behavior-related content in that text.

Today, be sensitive to opportunities to learn as God uses these opportunities to teach you in every detail of your lives. The secret of finding these ‘classrooms’ is to quiet yourself; God will not compete with the noise we allow in our lives. The heart and mind that enroll in these ‘classes’ are the ones not enrolled in any other.

Peace and blessings!

4 thoughts on ““Continuing Education”

  1. Heavenly Father, thank you for your word. Thank you for being faithful and just in forgiving me during my times of discontentment and being too busy. Thank you for getting my attention in the midst of all the noise and stirring up my heart, mind and soul to be still. Your word is powerful and it cuts through my busyness. Thank you for so many chances with the old behaviors that I held on stubbornly and had no choice but to be still but you gave me victories! Thank you for the ones that are sure to come because of my nature but the victories that will continue to help me grow and trust in YOU! Help me to continue to dwell in your word richly and never think I have arrived. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. La Wanda

    God Today, allow me my family and friends to be sensitive to opportunities to learn as You use these opportunities to teach us in every detail of our lives.

    Like

  3. Don Sullivan

    Lord thank You for another wonderful reminder of who You are. Please Father continue to strengthen and quiet my heart and mind so that they only hear You. Increase my hearing and retention so that I execute Your plan for my life with precision. Father let me seize every opportunity You have to learn from You so that I’m able to do what is pleasing and acceptable to You. Increase my knowledge and wisdom so that it may be useful in leading others to You. Let me embrace all the teaching and experiences You have for me Lord. In Jesus mighty and matchless name, Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michael

    Amen.
    As I think about learning from God as well as our church elders, I think about Paul. Paul studied intently, and was also a learned Pharisee under Gamaliel. Paul dedicated his life to learning, and more importantly putting his learning into action by winning souls for Jesus. However, even Paul had to learn to be content. When Gamaliel instructed Paul to let the Christians alone, Paul was not content to follow that instruction and persecuted the Christians until he learned the hard way – from the Lord Himself. I pray that the Lord helps me learn, and to learn to be content to follow His instruction and not my own. In the name of Jesus.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.