The Downside Of Discontentment

Manna For Today: Friday, August 19, 2016

The Downside Of Discontentment

I Timothy 6:6Now godliness with contentment is great gain.

When we are discontent, we find ourselves:

1. Fighting against God.

Proverbs 19:3The foolishness of a man twists his way, and his heart frets against the LORD.

2. In a state of constant murmuring and complaining.

John 6:43Jesus therefore answered and said to them, “Do not murmur among yourselves.”

3. Displeasing God.

I Corinthians 10:10…nor complain, as some of them also complained, and were destroyed by the destroyer.

4. Discontentment leads to a dead end.

Luke 15:14But when he had spent all, there arose a severe famine in that land, and he began to be in want.

5. We should follow God’s instruction!

Philippians 2:14 Do all things without complaining and disputing…

Peace and blessings!

8 thoughts on “The Downside Of Discontentment

  1. Don Sullivan

    Wow, what an awesome Manna for today. Father let Philippians 4:11 always apply to my life. Never let me be discontent because that will mean I’m fighting against You Lord and I never want to do that.Keep murmuring and complaining far from me and my family. Father let me and my family constantly follow Your instruction. In the mighty and matchless name of Jesus, Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heavenly Father, forgive me for my times of discontentment present, past and future. Let the banner of “displeasing you and fighting against you” flash before me every time discontentment rises up in me so that I may be quick to follow your Word!!! I believe and receive the power of your word, in the name of Jesus, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Phillip Bell

    This is a great an inspiring word for today. Lord God, help me to share it with those who need it most. In the name of Jesus Christ, the only Son of God, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Logan III

    The Remedy For Discontentment Is Gratefulness. I Am So Glad That I Am A Child Of God, Murmuring And Complaining Has No Place Or Space In My Life. The Goodness Of God Vanquishes Discontentment. The Motto Of Our First Men’s Advance At GCFI Was ” I Am Running The Plays That God Has For My Life.” Therefore, No Matter What Is Going On In My Life, I Choose To Listen To The Divine Voice And Instructions From Greatest Coach There Has Ever Been. I Choose To Trust And Believe In God…I Am Dissing Discontentment…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. LaWanda

    Lord help me to not complain and murmur, also help my family and friends to do the same each and every day Fathet ! Allow us to praise and rejoice in every situation! Amen, and so it is

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dear God! I will be content in every area of my life. I will strive for godliness in every situation. Murmuring and complaining shall not be my coping strategy. I will trust You Lord, I will rest in You Lord. I cast all my cares on you, because you care for me. You are my provider. You are my strength. You are my healing. You are Lord of my household, my body, and my child. It all belongs to You. Thank you Lord for your Love. In Jesus’ name I pray Amen.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Michael

    Amen.
    I find discontentment comes when I believe things aren’t going the way that I want them. However, that’s a lot of “I’s” and no God. At that point I come to realize that in every situation God has a plan and purpose. He can see the beginning from the end. As I mediate on His will, I am content to let Him have His way and let His will and plan unfold in my life. In the name of Jesus.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.