Human Arrogance: The Enemy Of Growth And Progress

Manna For Today: Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Human Arrogance- The Enemy Of Growth And Progress

Romans 12:3For I say, through the grace given to me, to everyone who is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think soberly, as God has dealt to each one a measure of faith.

God has a remedy for arrogance; it is called divine restraint. Consider the following example of the same:

1. It kept David from avenging himself.

I Samuel 25:39So when David heard that Nabal was dead, he said, “Blessed be the LORD, who has pleaded the cause of my reproach from the hand of Nabal, and has kept His servant from evil! For the LORD has returned the wickedness of Nabal on his own head.” And David sent and proposed to Abigail, to take her as his wife.

2. It kept Jabez in God’s favor and blessings.

I Chronicles 4:10And Jabez called on the God of Israel saying, “Oh, that You would bless me indeed, and enlarge my territory, that Your hand would be with me, and that You would keep me from evil, that I may not cause pain!” So God granted him what he requested.

3. It has kept us in our everyday lives.

Psalm 19:13Keep back Your servant also from presumptuous sins; Let them not have dominion over me. Then I shall be blameless, and I shall be innocent of great transgression.

4. It keeps our hearts and lips.

Psalm 141:3Set a guard, O LORD, over my mouth; keep watch over the door of my lips.

5. It keeps us from our enemies.

John 17:15I do not pray that You should take them out of the world, but that You should keep them from the evil one.

Pray today that God’s divine restraint will be active in your life to the end that your growth and progress is not negatively impacted.

Peace and blessings!

4 thoughts on “Human Arrogance: The Enemy Of Growth And Progress

  1. Elaine LeBeauf Wheaton

    Heavenly Father, thank you for revelation in this manna today. Thank you for using Pastor T for “making it plain”. Yes, you knew my thoughts and perceptions of some most recent circumstances but it’s not that I was so good but it was divine restraint from you that allowed me to experience peace, tolerance and growth. Thank You for restraint and continue to bless me with the right heart and spirit to continue. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paul & Barbara Taylor

    Father God in the name of Jesus we pray that divine restraint will be active in ours life today and everyday in the mighty name of Jesus. Thank you Pastot Trimble for the fresh manna everyday, we love you & we thank God for you , your family & ours church family in Jesus name , Amen & Amen !!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you Lord for the all that you have done for us in our lives. It is always you in the forefront and behind the scenes, and so the lesser of me, the better. Keep me humble and help me to practice restraint all the time. So I pray for less and less of me and more and more of you. Amen!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Logan III

    The Guide To Divine Restraint is Galations 5:22-25…The Fruit of the Spirit is Love, Joy, Peace, Longsuffering, Kindness, Goodness, Faithfulness, 23 Gentleness, SELF-CONTROL. Against such there is no law. 24 And those who are Christ’s have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. 25 If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.