Fix Your Gaze On Christ!

Manna For Today: Sunday, October 16, 2016

fix-your-gaze-on-christ

Hebrews 12:2…fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith. For the joy set before Him He endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

This scripture calls us to attention in the military sense of that word (attention). When at attention we’re not available to distraction or the usual relaxed allowance of minutiae that invades and takes over our lives so effortlessly.

It’s a call to arms, to our rightly position, to attend to the author and finisher of our faith.

Note how in this verse Jesus assumes the same position as it relates to His Father. “For the joy set before Him, He endured the cross, scorning its shame and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

It was, it seems, His attentive gaze upon His father that enabled Him to endure, push beyond shame and accomplish His goal of reunification with His Father. His goal was never to get to heaven, it was always to get to His Father!

Today, my friend, gaze upon Christ in a way that transforms your thinking from wanting to go to heaven to wanting to go to Him there!

Peace and blessings!

3 thoughts on “Fix Your Gaze On Christ!

  1. Father, thank you for your manna today. Help me to anchor, fix and focus my thinking on YOU! There are many distractions right now and I need help! Continue to bless me with the spirit, heart and soul to press through so that I may serve You with all that You have created me to be. Thank you for Your unconditional peace, grace and mercy, Continue to bless Pastor Trimble and his family needs. Help and bless the GCFI families with the desire to grow and serve. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don Sullivan

    Beautiful Manna today, Father transform me and my familys thinking from wanting to go to heaven to wanting to go to You there. Keep us attentive to You not letting us be distracted by worldly things and enemy tactics. Keep us constantly encouraging others and assistin5 them to do the same. In Jesus mighty and matchless name, Amen !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Teri Allard

    Heavenly Father, I thank you for this Manna for Today. I pray that I can gaze upon Christ in a way that transforms my thinking from wanting to go to heaven to wanting to go to Him there! Give me the focus and discipline to keep my mind stayed on Him.

    In the name of Jesus I pray.

    Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.