When Forgiving Is Difficult, Forgive Anyway!

Manna For Today: Sunday, October 23, 2016

when-forgiving-is-difficult-forgive-anyway

Matthew 18:21-22Then Peter came to Him and said, “Lord, how often shall my brother sin against me, and I forgive him? Up to seven times?” Jesus said to him, “I do not say to you, up to seven times, but up to seventy times seven.

Sometimes forgiving can be a difficult task; some hurts are so deep that it may even feel inappropriate to forgive. What that kind of thinking fails to do is to consider what forgiveness does for the one who is forgiving.

Our scale of benefits related to forgiveness is all too often tilted in the direction of the recipient of the forgiveness. There is much to gain by the forgiver.

What would the life experience be for the jailer if he or she never left the job? In the same way not forgiving someone for a wrong they have done keeps you captive and bound.

Alexander Pope said, “To err is human, to forgive is divine.”

Mark Twain said, “Forgiveness is the fragrance the violet sheds on the heel that has crushed it.”

Martin Luther King, Jr. said, “Forgiveness is not an occasional act, it is a constant attitude.”

Jesus says for us to forgive “…up to seventy times seven.”

Matthew 6:14-15 says, “For if you forgive men their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive men their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.”

So what do you do when forgiving is difficult? You forgive anyway and you do it now. You initiate, you facilitate and you benefit and give God glory!

Peace and blessings!

5 thoughts on “When Forgiving Is Difficult, Forgive Anyway!

  1. OT

    Thanks Pastor, this is what I continue to pray everyday to have the Holy Spirit work in me to forgive, because when anything happens during the course of the day I want to let out my anger at the situation or at the one that cause it. Most of the time I go to the scripture in Janes 1:19 …..be swift to hear, slow to speak, and slow to wrath. That has got me out of a lot of those situations. Sometimes I blow it and let out my anger and frustrations that didn’t have anything to do with what happened. I ask them for forgiveness and on my knees I go to THE LORD for forgiveness to get rid of that action that I took at that time. FATHER I thank you for Jesus Christ standing before you for me and the Holy Spirit for helping me out of every situation that I encounter. I ask to continue to correct and perfect me daily in my walk with YOU in the NAME of JESUS AMEN .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don Sullivan

    Thank You Lord for such a important reminder today. Walking in the spirit and the nine fruits of it has made it easy for me to forgive. It breaks my heart seeing people in bondage when they’re actually in control of forgiving and their own healing. I thank You that You have giving me a heart that allows me to forgive and move forward. Thank You for not letting me be selfish and going around keeping score of who has hurt or disappointed me. Thank You for allowing to me to forgive at the drop of a dime. Father please bless and show others how to forgive so that the tons of weights people carry around unnecessarily can be lifted and permanently removed. In Jesus mighty and matchless name, Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank You Father for a much needed word in my daily living. Help me to push pass the hurt, pain and disappointments from love ones and friends and land constantly in an attitude of forgiveness. Help me to hide in my spirit and heart your word “For if you forgive men their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive men their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.” Help me to experience all the gains as a person who is quick to forgive. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve learned the most about forgiveness through parenting. I think it’s the closes comparison of the reflection in how God forgives us. How we forgive others is a testament in our demonstration of obedience and love towards God. Forgive and forgive quickly!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Paul & Barbara Taylor

    Father God thank you for your word is true. Help us to do your will in every area of ours life in the name of Jesus. Thank you Pastor Trimble for the manna everyday in Jesus sweet name Amen & Amen !!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.