No Reward Without The Work

Manna For Today: Wednesday, May 24, 2017

I Samuel 17:8-10Goliath stood and shouted a taunt across to the Israelites. “Why are you all coming out to fight?” he called. “I am the Philistine champion, but you are only the servants of Saul. Choose one man to come down here and fight me! 9 If he kills me, then we will be your slaves. But if I kill him, you will be our slaves! 10 I defy the armies of Israel today! Send me a man who will fight me!”

We all know the story of the nine foot giant that taunted the Israelites. This was a critical juncture in their history as a people. The reality is, each one of us has a giant or giants to slay in our lives today.

It may be a career or a relationship; a health issue, economic issue, hope, dreams or aspirations that are threatened; parenting, marriage or something emotional (fear, anger, depression, hopelessness or failure). Whatever it is, all giants ask us the same thing they asked the Israelites; “who dare defeat me?” Most people have the same reaction that the Israelites had; fear and hiding [I Samuel 17:11,24].

I am going to help you to develop a strategy for slaying your giants. There are seven (7) observations we will make together  from I Samuel 17. Today, we will look at the first one.

• Know that there is a reward that awaits you for every giant you slay.

I Samuel 17:25-26“Have you seen the giant?” the men asked. “He comes out each day to defy Israel. The king has offered a huge reward to anyone who kills him. He will give that man one of his daughters for a wife, and the man’s entire family will be exempted from paying taxes!” 26 David asked the soldiers standing nearby, “What will a man get for killing this Philistine and ending his defiance of Israel? Who is this pagan Philistine anyway, that he is allowed to defy the armies of the living God?”

My friend, God has a great reward awaiting your victory; He will give you after you slay the giants in your life with His enablement. The Bible says, “Christ for the [reward] set before Him, endured the cross, despising the shame and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

You must know that your reward awaits you. Think on these things and set your heart to receive your reward.

Remember, you are loved!

Peace and blessings!

5 thoughts on “No Reward Without The Work

  1. Phillip Bell

    Heavenly Father, thank You for reminding me I am not alone when facing my giants. Please, help me to remember this fact during my battles, so that I don’t get overwhelmed. In the name of Jesus, Your Son, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heavenly Father, Thank You for reminding me that You are with me always! Help me to press through all the giants in my life with Your strength and power and claim the rewards that You have promised me. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. La Wanda

    Father, I need your help in slaying the giant in my career! I also have my sons,family members, and friends who need to sleep there giants also in their careers! So today I’m praying that you show us which stones to pick up to slay our giants in this area of our lives I believe that the Wii Ward is already here so I’m thinking you right now God!!! !in your mighty son Jesus name amen and so it is!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Don Sullivan

    Thank You Lord for another beautiful Manna for today. Help me to continue slaying every giant that comes my way. Give me strength as I patiently await the rewards from slaying giants and give me wisdom and discernment to assist others in slaying theirs. In Jesus Mighty and matchless name, Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

