The Good Shepherd

Manna For Today: Saturday, July 15, 2017

The Good Shepherd

John 10:11 – [Jesus speaking] “I am the Good Shepherd. The Good Shepherd gives His life for the sheep.”

Having been an equestrian enthusiast, I relate to this scripture from my experience of caring for my horses. The same can be said of those who have other types of animals for which they are responsible. The condition of the animal reflects the care given by the responsible party. I could walk from stall to stall and learn much about the owner of the animal.

The Bible’s reference to Christ as the “Good Shepherd” is not a part from the above mentioned observation. Christ cares for His sheep is beyond compare. David opens the famous 23rd Psalm with, “The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want.” He says, in essence, “I have everything I need because of His careful attention to the every detail of my life.”

He goes on to enumerate a number of benefits that result from the Good Shepherd’s care. Near the end of the Psalm, David places even his death under the management of his Shepherd. God is indeed our Good Shepherd, our Great Shepherd and our Chief Shepherd. Yield to His tender care today and embrace the new found freedom and confidence.

Remember, you are loved!

Peace and blessings!

Leave a Reply

