Forgive Anyway!

Manna For Today: Wednesday, October 18, 2017

So what do you do when forgiving is difficult_ You forgive anyway and you do it now.

Matthew 18:21-22Then Peter came to Him and said, “Lord, how often shall my brother sin against me, and I forgive him? Up to seven times?” Jesus said to him, “I do not say to you, up to seven times, but up to seventy times seven.

Sometimes forgiving can be a difficult task; some hurts are so deep that it may even feel inappropriate to forgive. What that kind of thinking fails to do is to consider what forgiveness does for the one who is forgiving.

Our scale of benefits related to forgiveness is all too often tilted in the direction of the recipient of the forgiveness. There is much to gain by the forgiver.

What would the life experience be for the jailer if he or she never left the job? In the same way not forgiving someone for a wrong they have done keeps you captive and bound.

Alexander Pope said, “To err is human, to forgive is divine.”

Mark Twain said, “Forgiveness is the fragrance the violet sheds on the heel that has crushed it.”

Martin Luther King, Jr. said, “Forgiveness is not an occasional act, it is a constant attitude.”

Jesus says for us to forgive “…up to seventy times seven.”

Matthew 6:14-15 says, “For if you forgive men their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive men their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.”

So what do you do when forgiving is difficult? You forgive anyway and you do it now. You initiate, you facilitate and you benefit and give God glory!

Remember, you are loved!

Peace and blessings!

4 thoughts on “Forgive Anyway!

  1. Thank you PT for today’s Manna, and for all past and future Manna’s. Today’s is especially a challenge as I have had the most difficulty of all the areas of my life with this. I am believing in God for all my shortcomings, and know through His love, grace, and mercy, He will repair my brokenness.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don Sullivan

    Lord I thank You for this beautiful Manna for today. Lord I thank You for giving me the ability to forgive with ease. I thank You for forgiving me on a constant basis. Lord continue to strengthen me in forgiveness and help me to identify those that I can help understand the benefits of forgiving. In Jesus Mighty and matchless name, Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pernice Frazier

    Amen, Amen Thank you Father God for teaching me to forgive and let go. We hold on to our hurt and cant see pass it which causes us to be bitter and hurtful. This is not what our Father intended for us as a child of God. When we let go and trust our Father, we become just like Him, loving, caring and forgiving toward others. thank you for our daily bread today.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OT

    Father I thank you for forgiving me of my trespasses and helping me to forgive others who trespass against me. I need your Holy Spirit in helping me to forgive. In the Name of Jesus Christ,Amen

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

